Will I be accepted into Lancaster if I miss out by one grade? Watch

ilycreer
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm hoping to study Marketing at Lancaster University this September but I'm worried I won't meet the requirement grades (ABB - reduced from AAB as I made it my firm choice).
I'm worried about the second B as I really struggled in gaining high marks in Geography A-level.
Would Lancaster accept me if I got AAC? or ABC?
Also does anyone know if Marketing is oversubscribed at Lancaster?
random_matt
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Wait and see.
On my way!
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
i am a student at lancaster uni, if you do miss by one grade you will still very very likely get in. Some of my friends were in the same situation and still got in. I would be very very suprised if you didnt get accepted.

(Original post by ilycreer)
I'm hoping to study Marketing at Lancaster University this September but I'm worried I won't meet the requirement grades (ABB - reduced from AAB as I made it my firm choice).
I'm worried about the second B as I really struggled in gaining high marks in Geography A-level.
claireestelle
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by ilycreer)
It will all depend what the other applicants get and how many there were this year, one grade drop isn't unheard of but as they already reduced it i wouldn't expect them to drop it much if at all.
Notoriety
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Unis often misrepresent the grades they actually require.

By way of example, Lancaster requires AAB for law. But I submitted an FOI request and discovered for 2017, 31% of their intake had ABB and another 31% had BBB.

Here is the link: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/reque...coming-1094761

I think it is more more than possible that they would accept students 2-3 grades below the stated offer, especially for a less competitive course.
Lancaster Student Ambassador
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Hi ilycreer,