Amrd2013
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi I am a year 12 student and I am looking to do an EPQ for Business, however I am struggling to find any good ideas I could do for an essay. I would love some ideas or suggestions about topics I could do or some advice to get me started?. I would be thankful for any help. Thank you very much.
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Amrd2013)
Hi I am a year 12 student and I am looking to do an EPQ for Business, however I am struggling to find any good ideas I could do for an essay. I would love some ideas or suggestions about topics I could do or some advice to get me started?. I would be thankful for any help. Thank you very much.
To generate ideas I suggest you do 1-2 weeks generally reading of business news/ newspapers websites and make a list of topics that interest you.
You can make the list over 3 days and look for about 10-20 areas, then assess each one and see which 5-7 stand out for you.
Have an open mind.
Then do some research on each one of those areas of about a page and maybe 3-5 articles or pieces.
Assess again and get it down to about 3-4 subjects.
Write an essay plan for each and imagine how a 5000 word essay could be developed.
Generate ideas and explore what sources are available.
Compare them to each other and rank them as most interesting/ greatest potential to see if one stands out. If you arent sure then develop each one into a 500 word or 2-3 sided essay plan. Go with your favourite are and then spend a bit more time deciding what angle/ question you want, although that can be finalised later when you know more about the subject.

Try and be original and avoid predictable subjects which everyone writes on.

When you look at articles ask yourself if the subject interests you and whether it has the potential to have 5000 words written about it.