The Student Room Group

How to study effectively

How do i study effectively i feel like right now I'm just studying so time goes by then i can rest
Should i do more than one subject per day or just one and how many hours
I’m the same but you can’t ask others on how you need to revise because it’s about you. You need to explore different revision techniques and see which one works best for you. I recommend making a time table with 30 minute intervals with 30 minute breaks. You can expand this over however many hours you’d like but it’s your choice. If it helps remind yourself about why you are needing to revise for some extra motivation. Good luck
Hi there, I would suggest definitely doing more than one subject during your day. Try to aim to do at least three different subjects. Revise an hour on each subject / topic and then have a break. Although, during your hour revision session use the pomodoro technique to manage your efficiently. (https://francescocirillo.com/pages/pomodoro-technique - this might help). This works by setting a timer for 25 minutes, and then having a break for approximately 5 minutes. In this time grab a drink and/or a snack, and just have a quick stretch! After having your break, go back to doing another set of 25 minute effective revision and then break again. After completing an hour of solid revision have a longer break and then go onto a new subject. If that makes sense? It aims to manage your time and reduces being distracted as you'll be able to go on your phone for example during that break.

To study effectively, the best thing to do is to remove all your distractions. This will help you whilst revising, social media will still be waiting for you!