The Student Room Group

Medical School vs Physician Associate

Hi TSRers,

My background is that I have 2:2 degree in Adult Nursing and am a current practicing nurse. I have several different options I'm currently considering but wanting to have a few opinions to help narrow the role down.

Since I started my nursing degree I had decided I wanted to be more medical than nursing, I didn't have the A-levels due to a lack of work ethic as a teen, I'm now 25 and fully motivated to dedicate myself and I am based in Liverpool. During my nursing degree I lost motivation due to several elements e.g. University was shockingly bad at communication, Inconsistent marking led me to resent Uni. There isn't a doubt that I would be able to perform well at Medical school for me.

I have done a fair bit of research and these are my options:

1. Apply for University of Nottingham as a GEM 4 year course (2:2 minimum) where I will need to obtain a high GAMSAT Score. I think March 2020 was the next exam date, where I'd happily study daily from now till then to obtain a high score. My only worry is that it may be too competitive and if I bank on that one application it would be devastating if I don't get a spot.

2. Apply for a foundation year with Carmel College (Liverpool) that works with University of Liverpool where you are guaranteed a spot in medical school. The con is that the course is 6 years long, £5250 for the foundation year and £9250 per year after.

3. Apply for a Physician Associate course (2 year course) there is massive campaign to recruit more PAs, the only disadvantage is that I wouldn't be a doctor and what if I feel like I want to go back to medicine after this?
Reply 1
Original post by MarkG531
Hi TSRers,

My background is that I have 2:2 degree in Adult Nursing and am a current practicing nurse. I have several different options I'm currently considering but wanting to have a few opinions to help narrow the role down.