The Student Room Group

Help me to decide (international student)

Hello, good afternoon everyone!♥️

I want to ask you something guys, i’m an international student that must to study a 4 years undergraduate degree, so my question is WHAT is BETTER for me and WHY? ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Studying a 4 years degree like in Edinburgh Uni (OR) enter a foundation course then studying a 3 years degree (I haven’t decide which uni yet)?

Btw i‘m planning to study engineering

PLEASE HELP MEEEE :frown:
(edited 4 years ago)
Reply 1
What unis were your options and what kind of engineering?
foundation degrees are more useful if your grades are lower or you lack experience. do you have a lot of education/experience in engineering? if you have some experience and get accepted into a four year course then go for that! if its four years there's likely a placement year as your third year where you will go out a work in the industry. placement years are really useful for increasing your employability, getting contacts and getting a job quickly after graduation. it really depends on your confidence/experience/education in engineering!
Reply 3
Original post by achichat
What unis were your options and what kind of engineering?

Mechanical engineering, actually I heard that Uni of Manchester & Uni of Bath are good at this field, but as i said I haven’t decided yet.

And i read that Uni of Edinburgh is also have a 2nd Year entry, but I don’t know what is the different than a 4 years degree.
Reply 4
Original post by nintysixthousand