Kaaayy19
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello, good afternoon everyone!♥️

I want to ask you something guys, i’m an international student that must to study a 4 years undergraduate degree, so my question is WHAT is BETTER for me and WHY? ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Studying a 4 years degree like in Edinburgh Uni (OR) enter a foundation course then studying a 3 years degree (I haven’t decide which uni yet)?

Btw i‘m planning to study engineering

PLEASE HELP MEEEE
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Foundation year is usually if you are lacking a bit of knowledge or have or expect lower grades than for the normal three year engineering course.
for example, I was offered Electrical Engineering at Cardiff university with quite a poor maths result at 'A'-level, and they said at interview that I could get in and they would teach me Maths properly in that year.

Edinburgh has the four year course, in common with many Scottish Universities, as the students in Scotland take "highers" as their end of school exam, not the slightly more demanding 'A'-levels common in the rest of the UK. So the first year of the four year course is to bring Scottish students up to the 'normal' entry level for university.

So , if you need a Foundation, or a Scottish "first" year - then great, but if you are an international studnet paying mucho$$$, and if you are getting good grades, then I suggest either applying to a standard UK three year compact engineering course, or applying for direct entry to Year Two at Scottish universities such as Strathclyde, Glasgow or Edinburgh.

Choose somewhere that is great value for money, and appropriate for your interests. If you have the £€$ to do a "Four year" course, why not do a standard Bachelor degree in engineering 3-uears, , then a single year Master degree. That would launch you into the world of work & enterprise much faster, if you have the right grades for STEM.
Kaaayy19
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago