The Student Room Group

Chances of securing a training contract?

Hi!

I am an international student and I did my A-levels outside the UK and secured a BBC and an AAABD at AS-Level. The reason for my poor a-levels is that my school didn't offer most of the subjects I wanted (Law, Politics & Media Studies) so I had to take other subjects and my school system was pretty tough.

Do I mention this when applying for TCs? I don't think it would count as a mitigating circumstance.

I have secured a high 2:1 (66 %) in my first year and I have legal work experience in two countries. I do a lot of volunteer work, extra-curricular activities and I'm working part- time at a local law firm during my studies. I also speak 3 languages and self-learning Arabic. I haven't been to an open-day or secured a vacation scheme as yet (will do that in my second year before applying for TCs)

Do I still have a chance of securing a TC at a good firm? I'm already at a disadvantage because I'm an international student and I don't have the best A-Levels.

I read on law-careers.net that some firms require you to take part in their first-year program to give you a training contract? Is that true?
Reply 1
Thank you!
Reply 2
He probably confused it with the fact that some first year schemes give you the opportunity to receive a training contract.
Which firms do you consider to be academically selective?
Reply 4
Original post by phantomdiarrhea
Which firms do you consider to be academically selective?

Add Davis Polk, Sidley Austin to that list. Although I know people with 2.2s who have applied to Skadden and have made it to interview stage and one even got a TC. This was also fairly recent (last year's cycle).
Reply 5
Yeah makes sense
Reply 6
Are you aware of firms that are easier to get into? With lower A-level requirements?
Reply 7
Original post by m111k111
Are you aware of firms that are easier to get into? With lower A-level requirements?