Provisional driving licence Watch

katherine340
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Yesterday I applied for my first provisional driving licence and I noticed they asked if I can read a licence plate from 20 metres away, and I said yes, however I am not entirely sure as I am short sighted and I have glasses for long distance however I wear them only in class as I am not good at seeing numbers/letters on a screen. Otherwise when I’m outside I see fine, it’s just the boards in school I don’t see. So my question is do I need to inform DVLA about this?
Cazemma
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I think you would be best off getting someone to help you figure out the 20 metre distance so you can see if you can read a number plate from that far. if you can't, try with your glasses on. if you can with glasses then you need to make sure you are always wearing them to drive and yes inform DVLA
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
kurro
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Just wear your glasses whenever you drive. If you can read a number plate around 20m away with glasses then your fine.
IWMTom
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by katherine340)
Yesterday I applied for my first provisional driving licence and I noticed they asked if I can read a licence plate from 20 metres away, and I said yes, however I am not entirely sure as I am short sighted and I have glasses for long distance however I wear them only in class as I am not good at seeing numbers/letters on a screen. Otherwise when I’m outside I see fine, it’s just the boards in school I don’t see. So my question is do I need to inform DVLA about this?
So you possibly told a lie on the form...?

Did it not occur to you to go and check whether you could read a number plate from 20m? What did your opticians say?
katherine340
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
(Original post by IWMTom)
So you possibly told a lie on the form...?