is maths hard at a level? or is chemistry harder? Watch

ArjunT
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
im thinking about doing one or the other. I think i'll probably get a B in both at GCSE but im not too sure of which 1 to do.
Medicine Man
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
i think chemitry - maths can be self taught (well some modules can be)
tristanperry
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
If you are good at maths, and take it seriously (as it's different to the GCSE, and if you don't work at it you'll definitely get caught out) then it's easy enough Nothing too difficult about it really.

However as I say, it is different from GCSE - you must (IMHO) enjoy it (and be willing to work hard at it) if you want to do it.
jseldis
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Maths is harder at A2.
Chemistry is a huge jump from GCSE to AS, but the gap between AS and A2 is no-where near as bad.

The gap for maths is HUGE, for both. It's very difficult, i'd say.

Maybe try both for AS? Then drop the one you're **** at?
jseldis
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
(Original post by Medicine Man)
i think chemitry - maths can be self taught (well some modules can be)
That's bullcrap. Anything can be self taught, it's actually easier with Chemistry - maths is more complicated at times and occasionally it's good to have a teacher to help you out with problematic questions.
livlov
Report 11 years ago
Maths is a horrible A-level I did it for AS with Chemistry. I was really good at Maths at GCSE but no matter how much work i did I never seemed to get it whereas in Chemistry all the work you do shows in your grades
Bandit Queen
Report 11 years ago
I've done both, and I have to say that maths is a lot more enjoyable, and I believe that you'll get more out of Maths than Chem. In what other subject can you say "yes!!" when you get an answer right?