The Student Room Group

Worried about accommodation (UWE)

I applied a little late for accommodation (in late June), and UWE can only guarantee accommodation if you applied before 8th June. I applied for Frenchay and City campus accommodation. Because I'm an international student from EU, I feel really stressed about this situation. I have gotten an email from accommodation services, that they can't give me offers (if there is any left for me) before 15th August because the A levels result day.

I don't know what to do now, should I wait for the results day or look/rent private accommodation somewhere before 15th?

Private halls are really expensive and all the inexpensive ones aren't available anymore. Also if I want to rent from the private providers, I will need UK based guarantor which can be a problem because I don't know anyone from UK who could be my guarantor. I have looked shared houses/studios from rightmove and spareroom etc., but I wouldn't want to rent before I have visited the property.

Do anyone have any experience about applying late for UWE accommodation and how possible it is to get a room if you applied in late June? And also does it have any impact that I come from outside the country and it is harder for me to find accommodation outside the university?
Is UWE your firm and do you already have your results?
Have you contacted accommodation and explained your situation? Have they said whether you will be on a waiting list and whether you will get priority? How many are on the list?
Have you asked the likelihood of being found a place either from people who cancel or dont make the grades or people who leave early?

I would ask the above.
2. Start saving money.
3. Start looking round at areas and available student rooms so you are familiar with what might be available. Bristol isnt cheap.
https://student.spareroom.co.uk/flatshare/index.cgi?&search_id=850990432&offset=0&sort_by=