The Student Room Group

Am I being sexist?? Want a female examiner:(

I am a female and my driving instructor is also female.
I dont feel comfortable around males, I'm a closeted lesbian btw. I dnt think that has anything to do with this

I had a driving test a few days back and failed, I have anxiety and the examiner is a male, theres no female examiners.
And I end up not doing well i feel its because i have a man driving instructor:frown: I know it sounds silly but it's true.

And my anxiety just gets so much worse! I dont know what to do. I probably sound so silly- I havent told anyone this.

Even my instructor says how something happens to me when I have my test because otherwise I'm a good driver and should he passing.
Original post by Anonymous
I dont feel comfortable around males, I'm a closeted lesbian btw. I dnt think that has anything to do with this

I had a driving test a few days back and failed, I have anxiety and the examiner is a male, theres no female examiners.
And I end up not doing well i feel its because i have a man driving instructor:frown: I know it sounds silly but it's true.

And my anxiety just gets so much worse! I dont know what to do. I probably sound so silly- I havent told anyone this.

Even my instructor says how something happens to me when I have my test because otherwise I'm a good driver and should he passing.

I don't think you're being unreasonable; I would definitely have a google and see if there's an option to choose which gender your test instructor is. If there's none at you centre, I would look nearby and tell your instructor you want to go there because a 'friend' had a good experience doing her test there, or something, if you don't want them to know - but I'm sure they would understand anyway.

I think there must be some kind of protocol for it considering people who have been traumatised by one gender or the other because of past experiences etc.