Jemimahshaw
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I am currently studying Maths and Physics A-level with Open Study College. I am doing the fast track course so I'll be taking the exams in May/June 2020, but I'm not booked onto the exams and practical endorsement because they are in Birmingham, 150 miles from where I live. I'm wondering if anyone else has taken exams and/or practical endorsements as a private candidate and what your experience was like?

For context, I am hoping to go to a top Russel Group university, so there is a lot of pressure on me to do well in these exams and get my practical endorsement as well. The A-level exams could be spread over a whole month, so if anyone has travelled longer distances for exams, did you stay in the area for the whole exam period?

Not only is finding an exam centre stressful, but the cost is extortionate (around £2000 including practicals). It has completely stressed me out and I'm struggling to continue to study with the uncertainty of these exams.

Does anyone have any advice?
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by Jemimahshaw)
I am currently studying Maths and Physics A-level with Open Study College. I am doing the fast track course so I'll be taking the exams in May/June 2020, but I'm not booked onto the exams and practical endorsement because they are in Birmingham, 150 miles from where I live. I'm wondering if anyone else has taken exams and/or practical endorsements as a private candidate and what your experience was like?

For context, I am hoping to go to a top Russel Group university, so there is a lot of pressure on me to do well in these exams and get my practical endorsement as well. The A-level exams could be spread over a whole month, so if anyone has travelled longer distances for exams, did you stay in the area for the whole exam period?