Studying for a PGCE as a Scottish educated student Watch

EngT
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hello

Does anyone have any experience of doing this? I went through the scottish school system and also attended a uni here but now I am considering studying south of the border for a PGCE in Maths.

The reason is that I have found the scottish system very restrictive, my degree is a BEng in mechanical engineering and I have effectively been told by two unis that I would not be eligible to teach maths as I do not have enough maths 'credits' from courses (60 out of 80 required).

As far as I can see I can do a maths PGCE in england as it seems the same sort of restrictions are not in place but I'm not 100% sure (sometimes you need to sit extra tests or do an extra entry course?). I would also be able to get the ~20k teaching bursary whereas I am unable to get any bursary in scotland because my degree is a 2:2. The only main drawbacks I've been able to identify would be the cost of the course and having to learn the different curriculum.

If anyone has any experience of this or any other advice that would be much appreciated!
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by EngT)
Hello

Does anyone have any experience of doing this? I went through the scottish school system and also attended a uni here but now I am considering studying south of the border for a PGCE in Maths.

The reason is that I have found the scottish system very restrictive, my degree is a BEng in mechanical engineering and I have effectively been told by two unis that I would not be eligible to teach maths as I do not have enough maths 'credits' from courses (60 out of 80 required).