The Student Room Group

Crash higher physics ??

Im going into 6th year and before summer I started nat 5 physics. After getting my exam results I ended up with BBBBC in 5 highers and I need at least 2 A at higher next year to get into uni. I was thinking of crashing higher physics but I definitely need an A. Is this doable if I work hard and maybe get a tutor?? I have never done physics before apart from the month of nat 5. I'm also doing higher maths, advanced higher biology and chemistry.
Crash Higher Physics is very hard. I am sixth year as well and was considering crashing it, however I spoke to the principal teacher of physics and he said if I am expecting an A in that subject I need to work very hard and have a strong interest in physics (which I don't). there is apparently a lot of stuff that comes from nat 5 therefore you have to have a bit of knowledge from nat 5. if you are very sciency and you are good at maths you can take it, but otherwise I would take something that doesn't require previous knowledge. I took Environmental Science instead of Physics but very few schools do that subject.
Original post by olarybaa
Im going into 6th year and before summer I started nat 5 physics. After getting my exam results I ended up with BBBBC in 5 highers and I need at least 2 A at higher next year to get into uni. I was thinking of crashing higher physics but I definitely need an A. Is this doable if I work hard and maybe get a tutor?? I have never done physics before apart from the month of nat 5. I'm also doing higher maths, advanced higher biology and chemistry.

I think it's definitely possible to get an A in crash higher physics since you're doing science-y subjects (which I assume you're good at). There is a lot of maths involved, but imo there isn't really much to purely memorise other than what the letters in formulas stand for. I found higher physics a lot harder than biology, but a lot of people feel differently.