How will a gap year affect my mental health? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi, I am currently in my last year of high school and considering the idea of a gap year as I don’t feel mentally prepared for university. My main concern is that I don’t cope well without my friends around, I am a people person and don’t cope well on my own. This is something I hope to fix in my gap year but I am worried that no matter how busy I keep myself it will only do more damage than good.
Manzone21
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I’m not the best on these topics because I went into the military but from what I’ve always been told by friends and family is this. Unless you are unsure of what you want to do and need to find that you shouldn’t take a gap year, it’ll only make it harder for you when you finally do decide to go back, not just on your education but the thought of going to school itself, if you are worried about friends and say you are a social person I honestly don’t think you’d have any trouble with making new friends. Universities are a great place to make NEW friends and probably BETTER friends that you grew up...it’s a place where you’d make TRUE, HONEST friends that would be there for you and could become your best friends! Obviously stay in touch with your old ones and make plans but don’t do a gap year only for that reason...are your friends doing a gap year also? Are your friends just as worried about it also? Those are some stuff to ask either them or yourself because going to a university should be a memorable moment and can’t be taken lightly as it will shape your path...

(Original post by Anonymous)