How rare is that an Arts student get placed in DRA at St. Andrews uni? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
How rare is it?

I’m an arts student (Economics) and I’ve just been allocated to DRA!

Science students will be fine because it is quite close. But an economics student! It’s really end to end.
la_banane_verte
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
It's a huge hall, it's not rare at all. Also to castlecliffe, it's max 30min walk, <10 min cycle, or there's the 92 bus if you can't walk/cycle.

Your lectures/tuts might not necessarily be in castlecliffe either, it depends on how big the classes are.
Pfalzgraf
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I spent three years in DRA walking to arts lectures in the centre of town; you'll miss the free exercise and fresh air when you leave! (and as la_banane_verte says, it's no great distance - certainly less than you'd have to travel in most non-campus unis)

Also, your subject has no bearing on which accommodation you get allocated.
Last edited by Pfalzgraf; 1 week ago
Stella98
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I was put in DRA at first (Philosophy student), called them and was moved to Sallies
A Rolling Stone
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Stella98)
I was put in DRA at first (Philosophy student), called them and was moved to Sallies
how on earth did you pull that one off? i've been following this issue for St Andrews Freshers for years and they have always stubbornly refused to do that... unless you found someone from Sallies who wanted DRA?!
Stella98
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by A Rolling Stone)
how on earth did you pull that one off? i've been following this issue for St Andrews Freshers for years and they have always stubbornly refused to do that... unless you found someone from Sallies who wanted DRA?!