Can I become a Doctor by doing BTEC Watch

Josh1234rs
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 days ago
Hi there, Firstly I would like to know if I could become a doctor if I do level 3 in BTEC. Secondly also if possible what subjects can I take for BTEC to be in the medical field. Thirdly could I do BTEC alongside 2 A-Level subjects. I apologize about the silly questions I’m new to this course so I would like to clear my doubts.
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
I would recommend you contact medical schools to enquire. I imagine at "best" you would only be considered doing a BTEC (in any subject) alongside two STEM subjects at A-level (including one of chemistry or biology, if not both). However I don't know how many if any medical schools would accept such a combination, or whether you would be considered a competitive applicant even if they did accept it.

Medical school and the medical profession once you finish the degree is filled with exams and studying for them, so it seems a bit redundant to try and avoid just one extra exam in your academic career in this way anyway.
brainzistheword
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
(Original post by Josh1234rs)
Hi there, Firstly I would like to know if I could become a doctor if I do level 3 in BTEC. Secondly also if possible what subjects can I take for BTEC to be in the medical field. Thirdly could I do BTEC alongside 2 A-Level subjects. I apologize about the silly questions I’m new to this course so I would like to clear my doubts.
Is there a particular reason you're so keen to do a BTEC instead of 3/4 A-levels?
sanaa17
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
(Original post by Josh1234rs)
Hi there,

You can't get into undergraduate Medicne after your A levels with BTECs bcz medical schools require you to study A level chem along with 2 other A level subjects.. I think there are a few in the UK that allow BTEC but you'd have to research yourself as I can't quite remember.