john_iqbal786
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am an engineering student who is thinking a career in finance or middle/back office in an IB would be a good alternative to an career in engineering. I know you can get into investment banks with an engineering degee, but what about jobs in finance (I don't have anything specific in mind), would companies still recruit engineers for these jobs? Also, how much does the prestige of university matter for middle/back office IB or finance careers? Would a degree from uni of Manchester give a better chance of one of these roles than the uni of leeds? Or would it not matter? Thanks
sanjsk03
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
By finance what do you mean Accountancy, Financial advisor, consutlant?
To be an accountant you can get a training contract with most firms, whereby the firm will pay for you to study ACA (audit focused) or even in industry for CIMA (management accounting) sometimes even ACCA or ATT (level 3 and 4) then CTA (Tax).

Accountancy firms also offer placements - some firms offer rotations in accounts, tax, audit and other areas of finance.

I don't know enough about IFA or CFA etc to comment on financial advisory.
john_iqbal786
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by sanjsk03)
By finance what do you mean Accountancy, Financial advisor, consutlant?
To be an accountant you can get a training contract with most firms, whereby the firm will pay for you to study ACA (audit focused) or even in industry for CIMA (management accounting) sometimes even ACCA or ATT (level 3 and 4) then CTA (Tax).

Accountancy firms also offer placements - some firms offer rotations in accounts, tax, audit and other areas of finance.

I don't know enough about IFA or CFA etc to comment on financial advisory.