Gcse English literature

Watch this thread
Amin789
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I am a GCSE student and have bought the collins aqa snap revision guide of macbeth and all the Acts in macbeth seem to be so long as there is 5 and i really dont want to write them all out to ‘revise’ them any good tips?
username3046474
Badges: 14
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
Hey!

I done Macbeth for my GCSE’s this year and I would be happy to help. Here are a few tips on how to revise:

Creating the revision resource:

First you need to pick a few memorable quotes from each act. When you are picking out quotes, think about these things:
- Are there any language techniques? (Simile/metaphor/personification/symbolism)
- Are there any structural techniques? (Repetition/hyperbole/ )
- Are there any themes? (Ambition/fate/violence/nature/manhood)
- Are there any motifs? (Blood/predictions of the witches/weather/sleep)
- Can you link any context to the quote?

There are a few A* context points you could reference. I have listed them at the end of the post

- What does the quote show about the character? (Ruthless/disorientated/cunning)
- Any other possible analysis of the quote

With the questions you have thought about above, form a mind map, with the quote in the middle and your answers surrounding the outside.

To remember quotes you could also put a theme as your center idea and put quotes relating to that theme around the outside.

Another great way to remember quotes is using flashcards. Use the app Quizlet to create these. On one side you could have the quote and on the other side the analysis? Or you could do a ‘fill in the blank’ type of thing. For example: