ZoZo1770
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hi everyone I'm due to begin a master's degree at the University of Oxford and was wondering whether anyone there could tell me about the intensity at postgraduate level - is it as crazy as undergraduate appears to be? I know that Oxford will obviously be a lot of work but I understand that they also allow postgraduates to work maximum 8 hours per week during term time - does anyone have experience working during their Oxford master's and if so, how did you find it? Thanks in advance
Kiki09
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
I did my master's part time (while working full time!) so direct experience. But you regularly see postgrad students working the evening shifts in college libraries, working behind the college bar, doing guided tours over the summer (in some colleges) etc so there are definitely options - and the college based jobs tend to fall outside of term time 9-5. I did weekend/summer holiday work teaching a sport during my dphil - no idea how many hours a week, didn't even talk to my supervisor about it... Some people do GCSE/A level tutoring - though that is quite a saturated market in Oxford unless you happen to be a native speaker in a desirable language or something else a bit niche.
QHF
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by ZoZo1770)
Hi everyone I'm due to begin a master's degree at the University of Oxford and was wondering whether anyone there could tell me about the intensity at postgraduate level - is it as crazy as undergraduate appears to be? I know that Oxford will obviously be a lot of work but I understand that they also allow postgraduates to work maximum 8 hours per week during term time - does anyone have experience working during their Oxford master's and if so, how did you find it? Thanks in advance