michaeljohnsmith
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hello and thank you in advance for any and all responses.

Found myself in a bit of a predicament after results day. I got 4A*'s in maths, fmaths, physics and computing. I'm of course over the moon with this and its got me into Edinburgh to study maths & computer science.

Last year I was rejected from 3 of my 5 choices, including Oxford. Personally I think this was due to my unique circumstances during the first term of last year. In lower 6th I studied maths, physics and computing but studied french instead of further maths. I then took the decision to swap french for further maths. I also got a C in one of my maths modules last year. As a result I believe that, on paper, I would have not seemed to be an overly strong candidate for a maths heavy subject and hence recieved several rejections. I also think this is why I was rejected from Oxford as when I should have been preparing for the MAT, I instead had to self teach the A2 Maths spec to be caught up with the rest of the fmaths students. As a result I completely flopped the exam and failed to get even an interview.

I'm more than happy to go to Edinburgh as it met a lot of the criteria I was looking for in a uni. However, Oxford has been a personal ambition for as long as I can remember and with all that in mind I was wondering if it would be worth giving it another shot now I have a bit more substance behind my application and could sufficiently prepare for the MAT?
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by michaeljohnsmith)

Found myself in a bit of a predicament after results day. I got 4A*'s in maths, fmaths, physics and computing. I'm of course over the moon with this and its got me into Edinburgh to study maths & computer science.