haveanicedayy
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Im studying biomedical sciences in September and was wondering which laptop to purchase. I'm thinking about apple- there's a Unidays offer with free beats and £270 off. If i buy it, its going to be £90 montly payments as I can't afford to pay it all at once. But I was wondering if there are any better laptop options with a better price, for example Chromebooks. I don't really get the difference between laptops except for the hype around apple. Any laptop recommendations for uni??
claireestelle
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
(Original post by haveanicedayy)
Im studying biomedical sciences in September and was wondering which laptop to purchase. I'm thinking about apple- there's a Unidays offer with free beats and £270 off. If i buy it, its going to be £90 montly payments as I can't afford to pay it all at once. But I was wondering if there are any better laptop options with a better price, for example Chromebooks. I don't really get the difference between laptops except for the hype around apple. Any laptop recommendations for uni??
don't sign up to £90 a month payments when you're on a student loan it ll be a struggle, you really don't need a macbook. i've always been a fan of hp laptop's they last well and i've always gotten one between £500-600 and my current one is as fast as it was two years ago and is still going.
Jang Gwangnam
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Look for other laptops as macs are a waste of money imo. You can easily (maybe for a techie) install a Hackintosh OS on a general laptop.

Choose laptops with these specs for decent performance:
- Intel i5 processor (it's a modern mid-range CPU)
- 2 slots for RAM (this enables dual channeling)
- 16GB max RAM capacity (more RAM = less lag) with stock 8gb RAM
- SSD hard drive (they are atleast 5x faster than a 5400rpm HDD, so all software you have downloaded will load in 2-3 seconds, downloading/transferring things will be quicker as well)