Laurenreid87
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I have my assessment day next week to train to be a probation officer and I am so nervous as I really want this.

Has anyone been on the assessment day and if so any tips and tricks greatly welcomed.
username4911626
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi Lauren, Im not a probation officer but have worked in a Probation Office. I have seen how manic it can be. And have also worked in a prison. I guess showing you are not judgemental and that you will not be talked round. Stick to what you first said. No signs of weakness. Knowing how to prioritise your caseload. Good luck. Fiona
Happyone95
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I’m also in the same position! I have the assessment day next week and I am dreading it as I just hate interviews! What date is yours? Hopefully we can get some tips off people beforehand!
Lucycs123
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Hi I had mine on Monday. Group exercise and written exersise was good but prepare for the interview from the compentencies they give you on the list on the email. It is very regimented and there is no time to deviate off the compentencies they want to hear. Good luck.
Jane Forsyth
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
They will be looking for you to have a good grasp of the competencies. However, remember to listen as well as speak its a key communication skill. Show you can model pro social behaviour and try to demonstrate that you can be motivational. Acknowledging difficulties and empathising without colluding is a useful tool as is a non judgemental approach. Good luck.
Happyone95
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Lucycs123)
Hi I had mine on Monday. Group exercise and written exersise was good but prepare for the interview from the compentencies they give you on the list on the email. It is very regimented and there is no time to deviate off the compentencies they want to hear. Good luck.