armz1990
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am aiming to change career from teaching to accounting. I'm currently 29 and have been teaching physics at secondary schools for the last 5 years. I would like to ask for advice on my best route for doing so.

I currently live and teach in China and due to commitments with my wife, I will be here for another two years. At this point I plan to finish teaching and pursue accountancy. I have a 2:1 Masters in Physics from Manchester.

I understand that getting a training contract would be the standard route to becoming a CA. I would be interested to know how difficult this might be compared to a younger applicant (I would be 31 at this point).

More to the point, I am most interested in what I can do during the next two years alongside my current job to give myself the best chance of gaining a training contract or following a different route into accountancy when my time in China is up.

I know that relevant work experience would obviously be best but this isn't really an option as an expat here.

Would it be worthwhile for me to start (or even get quite far through) the ACCA exams in the next 2 years for example? I have a decent amount of spare time at the moment for studying.

Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions.
ajj2000
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago

I understand that getting a training contract would be the standard route to becoming a CA. I would be interested to know how difficult this might be compared to a younger applicant (I would be 31 at this point).

Just to check - are you specifically looking for Chartered Accountancy training contracts or considering/ open to ACCA/ CIMA? In any case I dont think having worked as a teacher is a problem - I see quite a lot of accountants who moved (relatively young like yourself) from high school teaching or TEFL.

I'll try to respond to your other queries depending on the above.
armz1990
Rep:
?
Hi ajj2000, thanks for taking the time to answer.