themartinipolice
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m a y11 student going into y12 in September. I’m now fairly certain I want to study medicine at university. I was originally planning to do Biology, Chemistry, Spanish and Classics. I really enjoy all of these subjects and would love to continue them, however I’m worried about time. I work a part time job for 8/10 hours a week, some weeks I’m required to work up to 16, however to make my application competitive I will need healthcare experience/volunteering which will likely take up at least 2 or 3 hours a week minimum. Also from what I’ve gathered on this site and from teachers at least 1 extra curricular is necessary to stand a chance to show you’re a well rounded person.

With all of this I just don’t see it being realistic that I could keep this up without burning out a bit. And if i can, is it worth it when I would likely drop a subject after y12?

What do you think, is it feasible to achieve A/A* in 4 subjects, while working a part time job, volunteering and doing extra curriculars?

Any advice is much appreciated, thanks. 🙏
liamlarner
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
if i was you maybe start with 4 and drop down to 3 in the first few week or take one of the subjects as a AS Level and do 3 in the second year i would not do 4 full a levels if you have a part time job
avacados1
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Do u have a set of unis in mind
themartinipolice
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by avacados1)
Do u have a set of unis in mind
Well I’m predicted 8s and 9s at GCSE, so those results pending I’d like to apply to top medical schools, not necessarily oxbridge. I think I’d like to apply to Sheffield (bc I live here), UCL, Edinburgh and Bristol maybe?
petitcroissant
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
just do 3
m2b
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Why aren’t you doing maths ?
Rae5
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago