katiecatp
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I’m wanting to start at Bournemouth University and study mental health nursing but I’m worried I won’t be able to cope.

It says online that you do 37.5 hours per week in study time, lectures etc and 37.5 hours per week on placement. Almost 80 hours per week is a lot for me.

I have M.E (chronic fatigue syndrome) and am worried I won’t cope. Do you really do 80 hours per week or has the website not explained it well and the hours are more split up?

Thanks x
student170999
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi Katie,

I am studying mental health nursing at MMU and just passed my first year so I will be going onto year 2 in September. I'm going to be 100% truthful with you, it is hard. Placements are difficult when you're doing 37.5 hours a week and btw this figure excludes breaks so you're actually in longer than 37.5 hours. I'd advise you to do your research with the uni as every uni is different and definitely consider how you'll be travelling to placements. To give you a general idea, most placements start at 7.30am and onwards so they are early starts. You can do a mix of early, late and long shifts (depending on your placement) and you will also have to do a certain amount of nights over the 3 years. My uni states we have to do 150 hours of nights from year 2 onwards but we can also do it in our 1st year. Have a look at a general timetable from your uni as that'll show how your placements are spaced out. At my uni I did 4 weeks first, but with a week in between at uni to ease us into it. Had christmas off then I did 5 weeks straight of placement. Went back to uni, another 5 weeks of placement at a different place, back to 5 weeks at uni to do exams and then another 5 weeks on placement. I just finished my last shift on sat 17th aug. It's not similar to other undergrad courses as your timetable will span over the full year. Check with your uni when you'll get your holidays too. I would say you're right