KlaaraBell
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hello,
I've had to apply for my student finance this year through the EEA migrant worker scheme, as I will not have been living in England for 5 years by the time my course begins. However, by the time second year begins, I will have been living in the UK for over 5 years, and will most likely be granted the indefinite leave to remain. Therefore I would like to know if I would be able to apply for student finance in my second year as a UK student. With my current status, my student finance income is only secure if I am in continuous employment and able to immediately prove so. This is good for now, but having to look for a work based experience, related to my subject in the future, the security of a long term employment, hence eligibility for the finance through the EEA migrant worker scheme might be in jeopardy. As a UK student, I wouldn't have to worry about being continuously employed or being in between jobs for time being, whilst looking for apprenticeships, work based experience, etc. if I understand correctly.

Thank you, Klara.
SFE Tegan
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi KlaaraBell,

We assess your residency at the beginning of the course, not each academic year. If you did not meet the requirements of your course then we wouldn't be able to assess you as a home student based on 5 years residency in the UK.

Do you mean you would have Indefinite Leave to Remain under the EU settlement scheme?

Thanks, Tégan
KlaaraBell
Rep:
?
Yeas, indefinite leave to remain under the EU settlement scheme. Thank you.
SFE Tegan
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Okay,

At the moment the EU settlement scheme does not impact your finance. To continue receiving the Maintenance Loan you would need to continue applying as a Migrant Worker due to your employment in the UK.

Thanks, Tégan
KlaaraBell
Rep:
?
(Original post by SFE Tegan)
Okay,