The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website

Where to live?

I'm applying for graduate entry medicine at the university of Newcastle. But I'm wondering about where to live. I dont want to live in halls as I'll be older than everyone else living there, but I'm unsure about private renting. Anyone been through this?
Hi - sorry you haven't had a response to this yet. I'm just going to bump the thread in the hope that someone sees this and can help :h:

Why do I this?

Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website
Original post by 117361884374
I'm applying for graduate entry medicine at the university of Newcastle. But I'm wondering about where to live. I dont want to live in halls as I'll be older than everyone else living there, but I'm unsure about private renting. Anyone been through this?

Hi there,

I was a student at Newcastle Uni for my undergrad and took several classes in the med school building while living near the quayside. My first year I lived in Uni halls which were very loud and low quality compared to the private housing I moved to the following 2 years--it significantly improved my time in university.

I planned to return for my MSc this autumn, but had to withdraw from my program this week as my mother unexpectedly becoming very ill.

As I was prepared to be moving back to NCL this semester, I have a 51-week lease on a furnished/bills-included student studio at The Shield, Fresh Student Living near the Quayside area that I am looking to transfer to another student at a discounted rate (2 months paid). Since I booked early, the studio also has some additional grocery/laundry vouchers (totaling about 412 GBP).