Learning Latin A-level... Watch

aaa111
Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
I've been studying Latin for about four years, but have only just realised, after taking the GCSE, how much I actually want to do it. I really, really want to carry on doing it for A-level but I'm having trouble persuading my school to offer the course, as I'm the only one who wants to do it, and the school would have to get a special teacher in to do it, as none of the teachers are qualified to teach A-level. I'm not really very hopeful that I will be able to do it next year, but I'm going to fight it.

I just wondered whether anyone thinks that it would be possible to teach myself the course? I know it's hard, I've been told about the huge amount of set texts but I really, REALLY want to do it (I've never wanted to do anything more - yes, i'm a loser) and I'd really love to go on and study classics or latin at university. Do you think that it would be possible to get in to the course without the A-level, or with just the AS?

Also, does anyone have any suggestions about what books would be good to help me with my learning? I don't want a book for beginners as my Latin is pretty good, but I'd really love to be able to enter myself for the exam and prove my school wrong!

Sorry for the length of this, thank you for any of your suggestions
kjc_us
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
It would be such a waste for someone so enthusiastic to not carry on with Latin! I don't really think AS Latin is any harder than GCSE, there's just more to learn. If you're motivated enough it is definitely possible to teach yourself Latin AS.

Go onto the OCR website and print yourself off a copy of the AS vocab list and learn it for the exam. When you've learnt it, test yourself on this website: http://www.cambridgescp.com/ws2_tlc/...ras/ocras.html.