Bad GCSE grades, but good A-levels will this affect grad medicine? Watch

Lightning-Strike
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi everyone.

I'm a mature student (above age 21).

My GCSE grades were terrible, but I'm looking to do A-levels this year. I'm considering going into graduate medicine after my degree, but if I change my mind then I can always fall back on my degree.

I've seen the GCSE requirements of some med schools and I don't fit into most of them, but I am aiming to do very well in my A-levels.

I understand graduate medicine is different, but I was wondering if they would look at GCSE grades or are they simply not required in a graduate medicine application?

Thank you.
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Lightning-Strike)
Hi everyone.

I'm a mature student (above age 21).

My GCSE grades were terrible, but I'm looking to do A-levels this year. I'm considering going into graduate medicine after my degree, but if I change my mind then I can always fall back on my degree.

I've seen the GCSE requirements of some med schools and I don't fit into most of them, but I am aiming to do very well in my A-levels.

I understand graduate medicine is different, but I was wondering if they would look at GCSE grades or are they simply not required in a graduate medicine application?

Thank you.
Ok, if you have a degree and you're going to graduate entry medicine the requirements are going to be slightly different.

Read https://www.medschools.ac.uk/media/2...al-schools.pdf (from page 50 onwards and not the undergraduate medicine requirements from the start) - because you'll see a lot of med schools won't look at GCSEs, and some don't even look at A-Levels (or have much lower requirements).

So make sure you score highly on UCAT (the requirements are higher) or GAMSAT and smash the interviews! Because as you may know, GEM is harder to get in compared to undergrad medicine. Good luck.
Lightning-Strike
Rep:
?