Unexpected gap year in personal statement.

Watch this thread
bluedae
Badges: 8
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am writing an economics personal statement, aiming to get offers from the top universities. However, I am unsure whether to briefly address I actually quit an art foundation course, hence I had half gap year and also why I will end up having another gap year (since entry date is 2020).

I have actually always done art and design subjects throughout GCSE and A-levels. After my a levels I had started a foundation art course because I wasn't sure what type of art degree I wanted. It turns out I didn't want to study an art degree at all, at the same time I picked up an interest for economics. I quit my foundation course back in December and self-taught an economics alevel. Would it make me seem fickle and not committed to mention I dropped out of a course? But wouldn't it also be weird not to explain why I am in a 1.5 gap year period after A-levels and why most of my qualifications are art and design?
Vin2000
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
I’d say definitely don’t mention the fact that you want to take alther gap year. Just act like you’re applying for this year, and once they (hopefully) give you an offer, mention that you’d like to take the gap year.

As for the six month break and leaving the other course, thats up to you really. I’d probably just mention the things you did during the six month break and try not to mention that you left another course, but if you do feel you have to mention that you left, just be sure to add in stuff saying that you’re more mature now, more ready for fully committing to a course etc due to the fact that you did all this amazingly helpful stuff on your gap year.
bluedae