Freshers- have you started your reading list? Watch

Poll: Have you started 1st Year Uni reading yet?
Yes (19)
8.02%
No (90)
37.97%
I do not have a list yet (105)
44.3%
Planning to start soon! (23)
9.7%
barror1
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi everyone! :hi:
I am just wondering if anyone has started their pre-degree reading yet, or even books that will give them a step up!
I will also include an option where you have not received your reading list yet
Feel free to discuss below!
Nessie162
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I graduated last year and still haven't started
Bought all the recommended books before uni started and they're all still untouched, collecting dust on my bookshelf
Anonymous #1
Report 1 month ago
I mean... if they released student finance at the same time you started any pre reading then sure. But no money no study I’m afraid lol
cathasatail
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I think it's going to depend on the degree you're studying.
For example, I bought the recommended books (for reference, I'm studying biomedical science- heading into 3rd year) and you quickly realise that there's absolutely no point in reading through multiple books which are sometimes >1200+ pages before the teaching has actually commenced. For that you need context- you can't just dive straight into them without any introduction, and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone in the same situation. They do have their uses though and often either supplement lecture material or are essential for some tasks (such as certain books on histology).
However, if you're on a course which has works of fiction on the reading list, then I'd suggest having a quick flick through them.
NanaA23432
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by cathasatail)
I think it's going to depend on the degree you're studying.