robwynn87
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I am currently studying a distance learning masters in Philosophy through Staffordshire University, due for completion May 2020.

I have been receiving the government funded masters loan. I am hoping to continue on with PhD study, probably via distance learning through Staffordshire again.

On the government website, in respect to the eligibility for the PhD loan, it says you are not eligible for the loan if “you’re behind in repayments for any previous loans from the Student Loans Company”.

I am currently working only part-time and not earning enough to pay back my student loan from way back or my Masters loan. Does this mean I am “behind in repayments” and thus I am not eligible for the PhD loan?

Thanks for any advice. Rob
Amy SFE
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by robwynn87)
Hi, I am currently studying a distance learning masters in Philosophy through Staffordshire University, due for completion May 2020.

I have been receiving the government funded masters loan. I am hoping to continue on with PhD study, probably via distance learning through Staffordshire again.

On the government website, in respect to the eligibility for the PhD loan, it says you are not eligible for the loan if “you’re behind in repayments for any previous loans from the Student Loans Company”

I am currently working only part-time and not earning enough to pay back my student loan from way back or my Masters loan. Does this mean I am “behind in repayments” and thus I am not eligible for the PhD loan?

Thanks for any advice. Rob
Hi Rob,

You would only repay your loan if you are earning over the repayment threshold, if you are not earning over the repayment threshold this will not affect your eligibility to apply for a masters loan. The “you’re behind in repayments for any previous loans from the Student Loans Company” refers to arrears i.e if you are eligible to make payments and have not done so.