abc3fghi
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi guys, this is really a question for those that have done their first year of a GEM course. I’m going to be starting Graduate Entry Medicine in around two weeks and was wondering how intense I should expect it to be, how many hours should I be putting in outside of what’s scheduled by the university? I come from a completely non biology/chemistry background so am not sure what to expect. Also any recommendations for how to cope with it and any other tips and advice would be very helpful.

Thank you.
Marathi
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Hey, I'm a second year GEM student (nearly third - hopefully!).

First year was intense. There's no right or wrong amount of hours, it's whatever you need to do to stay on top of your notes and understanding so that when revision time rolls round (which it soon does) you're ready to hit the ground running. Our cohort was quite split in first year with ~2/3rds of the year not turning up to lectures (certainly towards the end of the year, numbers were maybe even worse) and the rest attending lectures. People who didn't attend lectures would even go through the presentations on their own, or watch the lecture recordings (normally at 1.5 speed!). I preferred attending lectures in person though.

People tended to either work in the evenings spending maybe 1-3hrs a night doing things, or would work at weekends. I would do a bit of both but probably did the majority of my work at weekends.

Having a good network of friends and social support will help tremendously. At times we have all had our low moments and having people to turn to and vent with was really welcoming and helpful. Also make use of support services offered by your uni, if you're struggling let someone know!