w4stedtimes
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I’m being really indecisive about what I want to do after university!

I’m currently studying Medical Science and originally wanted to be a Physician Associate, but there isn’t much progression and you don’t have much autonomy e.g. you have to ask a doctor to check all your diagnoses and you can’t prescribe (yet).

My next option was Clinical scientist but I don’t like the idea of being in a laboratory all day and not getting to work with people. I used to want to be a clinical physiologist e.g. cardiac physiologist, but I spoke to someone in that job role and she said it’s very repetitive and there’s not much progression and after 5 years apparently it’s gets boring (which she did and now she’s a nurse).

I like the idea of the clinical physiologist role because of the combination of science and getting to work with patients to aid with their diagnosis or treatment. Everyone tells me I should be a doctor, but I did BTEC in college and don’t have the best GCSEs. I also don’t think I have the patience to go through all the entry exams and then go to university for another 4 years.

Can anyone give me some advice? (Sorry for the post being so long)
Vidi vici
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by w4stedtimes)
I’m being really indecisive about what I want to do after university!

I’m currently studying Medical Science and originally wanted to be a Physician Associate, but there isn’t much progression and you don’t have much autonomy e.g. you have to ask a doctor to check all your diagnoses and you can’t prescribe (yet).