A Question for Writers & Authors & English Students at University

Watch
username4551226
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello,

I am an aspiring writer, wanting to write a book one day in the future. I have wanted to write ever since I was a young adolescent and have always had a passion for it.

I studied Philosophy, English Literature and History at A-level.

However, my path is to not go down the route of studying English at University, simply because I don't think it will aid me in my writing career. I instead opted for a degree in one of the Social Sciences, as I feel that not only it one of my other passions, but it will also add more depth to my book when I one day write it.

My question(s) is:
Is a University degree in English needed if you want to become a writer? The answer to that is obviously no, but if you are studying English all the time, it definitely inspires you (or forces you) to write constantly, which develops your skills. This is different if you are not studying English, for most.

I would love to get the opinions of other aspiring authors studying English at University, as well as the opinions of writers who are studying a different subject.
Has a degree helped you in writing a book? Or motivated you to write more? And, would you be the same writer without this degree? Did you need this degree to aid your writing?

For authors not at University:
What is your opinion on all of the said above? Did you study English at A-level and what was the reason you did not pursue a degree at University?

Thanks, hope to hear back from someone soon!
Emily_5410
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi! So I’ve just finished my A-Levels so I don’t have experience in whether a degree in English helps but from my experience everything helps. I studied English lit, language and photography and everything has helped.