Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,

I’m currently in my 3rd year of uni and I am sure I want to do a masters in psychology. I was looking at universities like Reading and Royal Holloway as they have excellent and interesting courses and have a commute of around half an hour from where I live, so I will be able to live at home and save money.

However, I spoke to my friend about this decision and she said that I should move away. Away from my family and boyfriend to allow myself to develop more. I moved 20 mins away for my undergraduate degree and I did not like it at all and I would be happy to live at home whilst doing my masters.

However, do you think it is worth moving further away and living alone? I have lived with my boyfriend for the last year in his student accommodation so I have had the chance to live independently. Do you think the year of living away is more valuable than the money I would be able to save? I do always try to push myself to do things that scare me, but I don’t know if it is worth it or not!

Any advice is appreciated.
username4929448
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
To be honest, if you're happy where you are and you have the chance to save a bit of money then I don't see why you need to! It's also worth remembering that masters are a step up in both intensity and workload so you may want that extra bit of support around you while you are getting the degree. Both Royal Holloway and Reading are decent Unis - so do what you feel is best!
username1549081
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by grevling)
To be honest, if you're happy where you are and you have the chance to save a bit of money then I don't see why you need to! It's also worth remembering that masters are a step up in both intensity and workload so you may want that extra bit of support around you while you are getting the degree. Both Royal Holloway and Reading are decent Unis - so do what you feel is best!