A-Levels to ATAR conversion for Australian uni

Watch
nesquik37
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am currently studying my A-Levels but plan to study in Australia for uni. I am a bit confused as to how my predicted A-Level grades map to ATAR. For reference I am predicted 4A*s and an A at A-Level. Could anyone tell me what ATAR this would likely be in Australia?
pitguy
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by nesquik37)
I am currently studying my A-Levels but plan to study in Australia for uni. I am a bit confused as to how my predicted A-Level grades map to ATAR. For reference I am predicted 4A*s and an A at A-Level. Could anyone tell me what ATAR this would likely be in Australia?
ATAR basically works by percentages; ie 98 atar means you are in the top 2% of the country approximately. With those grades, it would probably translate to about a 98-99 ATAR because I read somewhere that A*A*A* is about top 2.08% of UK; it's actually a little skewed towards UK however, based on Cambridge which requires 98.5 ATAR minimum as equivalent to A*A*A.

Out of interest, why would you choose to come to Australia with grades like that? I am doing the exact opposite lol. The standards over here tend to be much lower in terms of candidature, even our very top unis only require high 80s/low 90s for sciences.
nesquik37
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Thanks very much for letting me know about how the ATAR conversion. I am still applying to the UK, I just think I might prefer to live in Australia.

That’s interesting about the entry requirements. Are courses competitive to the extent that even if someone were to meet the entry requirements - they still might not actually get a place?
pitguy
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by nesquik37)
Thanks very much for letting me know about how the ATAR conversion. I am still applying to the UK, I just think I might prefer to live in Australia.