Taking a southerner up t'north- Barror1's first year GYG!

Watch
barror1
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hey everyone! :hi:
Welcome to my Grow Your Grades for the first year of university
For anyone who doesn't know me, I'm Barror! I am a first-year student at the University of York (Vanbrugh College) studying a combined degree in English Literature and Linguistics.
Though I did not get the A-level grades I wanted, university is a completely new environment and I hope to improve on myself in ways you really can't without moving away from home and becoming independent. I hope that you will join me while I cultivate my skills and maybe bring back the passion that a third year of Sixth Form totally crushed :laugh:

For now though, I hope you enjoy some juicy information!
A-levels:
Spoiler:
Show
English Language (sat 2018)- A
English Literature- A (I got it reviewed and marked up from a B! :heart:)
Sociology- C (oops!)
Psychology (AS)- C

My Daily Commute
Spoiler:
Show
I am from Bournemouth and am really excited for the 10-12 hour commute every day!
Name:  map-34294_1-32213_1.jpg
Views: 165
Size:  29.8 KB
Spoiler:
Show
:lol:

First-year Literature units:
Spoiler:
Show
Key Concepts: An Introduction to Genre, Theory, and Critical Writing!- The anthology for this unit is the same size as the BIBLE so I hope it is worth it!

Approaches to Literature I: Writing Modernity- So excited for this one. It seems to have a very heavy focus on society which I always enjoy! Plus I get to read Frankenstein again, so it's a win-win really :yay:

Approaches to Literature II: Other Worlds- Medieval literature :love: This module takes us all the way from Beowulf to Blazing World! It is such a huge timeframe to cover but it actually a pretty fun module :woo:

First-year Linguistics units:

Spoiler:
Show