saira14
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I tried to enrol at a college today for the Level 2 BTEC in Applied science but the college said they couldn't offer me anything because they thought it was setting me up to fail. Last year I studied Level 2 BTEC Business at a different college and got PP which wasn't enough for me to progress onto Level 3 Business and because of funding reasons that meant I couldn't go back to that college. However during my time at that college I managed to get my English GCSE to 4. This college rejected me because I needed a 4 in GCSE Maths but only at a 2- the man said in science there is a lot of math up to GCSE PASS equivalent and he thinks I would find it difficult. Furthermore I have no background in science- I had a hard time at high school and could not access my GCSES except for English and maths. No pass in GCSE Maths and no previous science knowledge they rejected me. But nationally the requirements for science level 2 is a 3 in English and maths, and eventhough I have not got a 3 in maths I have got my functional skills in it. also, I started afresh in business having no previous knowledge of the subject yet still managed to complete the course. I know it wasn't the best grade but I did manage to pass it to level 2 standard. science is my passion and I feel like I have hit a dead end.
TMWEe
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago