Florin722
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hey guys, I just started my first year of college and I'm studying computer science, psychology and business studies. I want to go on to study Computer science at university but all universities require a maths a level, I was required to get a 6 in maths GCSE to study maths a level but only achieved a 5. Does anyone have any advice on how to get into a good university without studying maths a level?
morningstar461
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
It depends which universities you class as "good". Most if not all of the "top" unis want maths a level and a lot of the ones that don't want a B or equivalent in GCSE. There are some unis that don't require maths but they're not the ones generally classed as being "good" unis. Computer science can involve a lot of maths depending on the specific course so if you didn't do well enough at GCSE to take it at a level then you might struggle.
Florin722
Rep:
?
What if I study a computer science btec? Will that get me in a good uni? I still have time to swap colleges
Scotney
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by Florin722)
Hey guys, I just started my first year of college and I'm studying computer science, psychology and business studies. I want to go on to study Computer science at university but all universities require a maths a level, I was required to get a 6 in maths GCSE to study maths a level but only achieved a 5. Does anyone have any advice on how to get into a good university without studying maths a level?
(Original post by Florin722)
What if I study a computer science btec? Will that get me in a good uni? I still have time to swap colleges
You could take a foundation year in computer science after A level. You could email a couple of unis to ask about BTEC route.
Florin722
Rep:
?
What types of universities will a foundation year get me in?
artful_lounger
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago