Applying for medicine at Newcastle/Southampton with a low UCAT score

Watch
theodora101
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am a year 13 student applying for medicine at uni for 2020 entry. I just did my UCAT (previously UKCAT) exam over the summer and got really bad exam nerves and ended up with a sub par score of 2640. I really want to go to Newcastle/ Southampton but I don’t think my UCAT score is high enough. I have extremely strong predicted grades and GCSEs, as well as a lot of work experience and extra curricular things to say. (I am predicted 3 A*s at A level and got all 9s at GCSEs). Is it worth applying to Newcastle or is my UCAT score just too low. Will they take into account my grades?
Sososnake
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by theodora101)
I am a year 13 student applying for medicine at uni for 2020 entry. I just did my UCAT (previously UKCAT) exam over the summer and got really bad exam nerves and ended up with a sub par score of 2640. I really want to go to Newcastle/ Southampton but I don’t think my UCAT score is high enough. I have extremely strong predicted grades and GCSEs, as well as a lot of work experience and extra curricular things to say. (I am predicted 3 A*s at A level and got all 9s at GCSEs). Is it worth applying to Newcastle or is my UCAT score just too low. Will they take into account my grades?
https://www.ncl.ac.uk/media/wwwnclac...ers%202019.pdf These are the official ucat cutoffs for Newcastle in previous years
theodora101
Rep:
?
so if the threshold was 2720 last year I don’t stand a chance?
Sososnake
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
so if the threshold was 2720 last year I don’t stand a chance?
I think it would be risky. Also with straight 9’s at GCSE and 3A* predictions you would be able to apply to safer options like Birmingham, Cardiff and Leeds if you do the bmat
DGeorge13
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago