The Student Room Group

How do I cope being around him after I told him how I felt but he's got a girlfriend?

We were the only ones in our class. He only started talking to me at the end of April but was so easy to talk to. I didn't want to fall for him but it was difficult not to. The last guy I fell for put me through the abuse cycle & broke my heart. A year later I was in no position to look at another guy in that way but with time I felt that I could trust him. I wasn't physically attracted at first but fell for his amazing personality, how he could make me laugh & smile & how he was so kind. I'm not experienced with flirting so this is hard to explain. From my side I was definitely flirting. He never shut me down - instead how he acted completely changed after I flirted. We mainly text about work but my gut told me that I didn't get the same vibes off him over text as in person (know I'm questioning why). I thought it was because he's a bad texter or was busy but it went from taking about 30 minutes to reply to hours, days & then never. I found out he was no longer being in the class but he avoided telling me & made it out as though he was staying. I thought it was because he promised wouldn't leave me & felt bad. We text a bit a few weeks ago but he ignored one message which I thought was because I said thank you for not leaving me & he felt bad. However the text was a bit flirty but nothing I hadn't said in class and he was fine with. I didn't see him for over 2 months due to college. When we went back he was acting different. He couldn't make eye contact when telling the teacher he wasn't coming back and ignored me when I spoke to him. He ignored a message where I said I could help him by giving him notes from last year & then kept staring at me in one of our other classes even when I looked away he was still staring and then looked sad. I said how I felt & also said good luck & to not feel bad about leaving me. All I had back was 'I have a girlfriend x'. I