Getting into Oxford/ other Maths Watch

rumcru19
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hello, I am in year 12 and am hoping to apply to a good university to study maths for uni (this would be in 2021). I got 10 9s, 1 8, 1 A* and 1A^ in my GCSES and I am currently studying Maths, Further Maths, History and Chemistry at A level. I was wondering what I need to do to get to Oxford or another good university and what my chances are. Thanks!
Shozab_N15
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I have got the exact same question. Although I would say you are fine as you are. Maybe add Physics because its got the mechanics side of mathematics?
Interea
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by rumcru19)
Hello, I am in year 12 and am hoping to apply to a good university to study maths for uni (this would be in 2021). I got 10 9s, 1 8, 1 A* and 1A^ in my GCSES and I am currently studying Maths, Further Maths, History and Chemistry at A level. I was wondering what I need to do to get to Oxford or another good university and what my chances are. Thanks!
I did very similar subjects (swap history for Latin) and got similar GCSEs, and got all my offers. I didn't apply to Oxbridge because I couldn't deal with not having time to recharge during the term due to mental health struggles, but I did do some work towards MAT.

My personal statement was basically just explaining why I liked maths, which areas in particular I was interested in learning more about, and I spoke about my favourite lecture from a lecture series I had been to and what that made me look further into. Maybe see if your local unis offer something like this? (This was at Birmingham uni, their popular maths lectures.)