The Student Room Group

Applying to Drama Schools...

I've long considered applying to Drama school after 6th form college, and successfully gaining a place in the National Youth Theatre further strengthened this.

The only thing is, I really don't understand how it works. I've no professional experience, although i may try and gain some after my NYT course in the summer.

I know that you can only apply to a certain number of universities due to UCAS points. But what about drama schools such as Guildhall and RADA? I know that they're incredibly difficult to get into, and I'm certainly going to remain realistic. But if these schools work on an audition basis, does this mean I can audition for as many drama schools as I like, and still apply for university? Therefore, if I get lucky with an audition, I can attend that drama school, and if not, still hopefully go to university.

I've considered things such as a gap year, but I'm still not sure about that - perhaps the notion of living around london and looking for experience with acting and the NYT is unrealistic.

But would I be able to audition for these drama schools alongside my UCAS-dictated universities?

Reply 1
I applied for Guildhall this year so I sort of know the drill :P You apply directly to the school (at least for Guildhall) so not through UCAS - i.e apply to as many as you wish. Although I am not an expert on UK unis since I'm a Swede meself, I think you should be able to apply to drama schools such as Guildhall and other unis through UCAS.

There are 2 auditions for Guildhall to get in and you don't need any past experience.
Reply 2
It varies between schools, some you apply through UCAS, some you apply direct. So yes you can audition for drama school while also applying to more academic courses or whatever via UCAS. Have a look at the websites of the ones you are interested in.
i expect u2 die