Kira0311
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hello,
I'm a final year history undergraduate and I'm considering teaching English abroad as a career, at least for the next few years but I'm worried about the fact that I'm not doing a relevant degree e.g. linguistics, TESOL, education. I've seen a fair few internships that don't necessarily require a relevant degree or sometimes a degree at all, but I worry that without a relevant background I might struggle with some of the more technical elements. I was hoping to hear from people who went into TEFL teaching who didn't have a relevant degree and how they found the training, and whether they feel it may have been worth it to have done some sort of postgraduate course or something in a relevant field?

Thanks!
cheesecakelove
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by Kira0311)
Hello,
I'm a final year history undergraduate and I'm considering teaching English abroad as a career, at least for the next few years but I'm worried about the fact that I'm not doing a relevant degree e.g. linguistics, TESOL, education. I've seen a fair few internships that don't necessarily require a relevant degree or sometimes a degree at all, but I worry that without a relevant background I might struggle with some of the more technical elements. I was hoping to hear from people who went into TEFL teaching who didn't have a relevant degree and how they found the training, and whether they feel it may have been worth it to have done some sort of postgraduate course or something in a relevant field?

Thanks!
You can teach English abroad with a wide variety of degrees but you would have to do TEFL training first. I have friends who studied English, Dentistry and Pharmacy who all taught English abroad. This is one company that you can apply for roles for if you would like more information: https://www.englishfirst.com/esl-job...lish-overseas/
doodle_333
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago