The Student Room Group

Is it too late to start a PGCE in physics this year?

Is it too late to start a PGCE in physics for September 2019?

There was also something else I wanted to ask...

A few months ago I signed up with some teaching agencies in Manchester and they were able to offer me temp teaching jobs. One of the roles was to actually teach a GCSE maths class, even though I have no teaching experience. Is this a common thing? I declined the job as I have never taught a class before.

If I can't get onto a PGCE now what should I do for the time being? Is it a good idea to work as a supply teacher through agencies?

I have a BSc and an MSc in physics and AABB at a-levels in maths, physics, English lit and chemistry.

Thanks
I think 2019 entry is either closed now or mostly closed.

I think being a supply teacher is a great choice. Usually for temp stuff or supply teaching you don't need a teaching qualification. Go for it. It will be great on your application.
Original post by Rossagle
I think 2019 entry is either closed now or mostly closed.

I think being a supply teacher is a great choice. Usually for temp stuff or supply teaching you don't need a teaching qualification. Go for it. It will be great on your application.

Do you think it would be a good idea though, since I have no teaching experience?

I imagine it is daunting to be put in front of a GCSE class and try to teach them when I don't really know what I'm doing. I'm realistic about it as I don't expect another teacher to be on hand to support, given the workload teachers are under.

Thanks
Original post by toploader112
Is it too late to start a PGCE in physics for September 2019?

There was also something else I wanted to ask...