ewelinastopyra
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,
I was graduated in 2013 with Master degree in Physiotherapy in Poland. I have no work experience except university apprenticeship programs. What do I need to do to work as a Physiotherapist in UK now? Is there any complementary course I can do? How to gain work experience? I was applying for number of Physiotherapy Assistant positions but due to lack of experience unsuccessfully. thanks
Ironmike
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by ewelinastopyra)
Hi,
I was graduated in 2013 with Master degree in Physiotherapy in Poland. I have no work experience except university apprenticeship programs. What do I need to do to work as a Physiotherapist in UK now? Is there any complementary course I can do? How to gain work experience? I was applying for number of Physiotherapy Assistant positions but due to lack of experience unsuccessfully. thanks
To start of with, you need HCPC registration - do you have this?

If you do, then it unfortunately doesn't look like an easy path into the NHS for many from overseas. There is primarily the issue of the equivicancy of what you have learned in Poland, and in particular respiratory physio. We are very strong in the UK on resp physio, and an area many foreign qualified workers struggle with is competence in this. If you do not have skills in this area, then I would suggest looking for any courses that will give you this as I guarantee every band 5 interview will have at least one question relating to respiratory care. I would however advise against doing lots of expensive qualifications as they won't be of use to you in looking at junior physio jobs.