The Student Room Group
Main building
University of Bradford
Bradford

Making Friends

Hey, I’m a first year student at University of Bradford and have not made any friends yet. I am studying Biomedical Science. I feel that people may not wanna speak to me or be my friend.
Original post by Anonymous
Hey, I’m a first year student at University of Bradford and have not made any friends yet. I am studying Biomedical Science. I feel that people may not wanna speak to me or be my friend.

Hey!

I'm sorry to hear this! I think people will just be nervous and feel scared to approach to start a conversation, could you try spark a conversation with someone instead? You could ask someone if they are planning on joining a society, or what TV show they're currently watching :smile:

Speaking of societies, have you thought about joining a club or society? There is such a wide variety, and you'll be able to meet like minded people who share the same interests as you - so hopefully conversation will be that much easier!

Are you living in student accommodation? Keeping your door open is always a great piece of advice to encourage people to come say hi and maybe taking round a box of chocolates - great conversation starter!

Maybe you could look at getting involved with volunteering or becoming a student ambassador? You'll be able to meet lots of people that way too!

Making friends can be scary, but you'll soon find some great people to hang around with!

If there's anything I can help with please do let me know

Becky
Main building
University of Bradford
Bradford
Reply 2
Hey, I’m not very confident and I’m living at home and don’t have an accommodation. However, I feel extremely unconfident to speak to my peers.

Thanks Becky
Hey, I’m not very confident and I’m living at home and don’t have an accommodation. However, I feel extremely unconfident to speak to my peers.

Thanks Becky