Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hiya

I'm a mature student and I've taken up a home learning A Level Maths course to help me get into uni..

I have two probs..

1. I haven't studied maths since I was 16 (8 years ago!)

2. I am sitting the exams in June and have only just started!

I know I'm probably taking alot on and I'm doing a few hours study a day (getting to grips with Core Maths 1) But I wondered if anyone had any advice eg best ways to study etc to try and get me back into the swing of things.

I'm doing it because I want to get into computers and apparently Maths is the best way to go when it comes to A level..

Any advice would be most appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    1. It might be an idea to revise (or learn!) some stuff from GCSE Maths to refresh your memory. This might mean more learning, but you'll find the A-level pretty hard if you're not totally happy with GCSE work.

2. Little and often is probably the best way to get started, then build it up slowly. I'm doing C1 and C2 at the minute (and S1 and D1), so if you have any problems with anything, give me a shout.

Good luck

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by amnesiaiom)
    Hiya

I'm a mature student and I've taken up a home learning A Level Maths course to help me get into uni..

I have two probs..

1. I haven't studied maths since I was 16 (8 years ago!)

2. I am sitting the exams in June and have only just started!

I know I'm probably taking alot on and I'm doing a few hours study a day (getting to grips with Core Maths 1) But I wondered if anyone had any advice eg best ways to study etc to try and get me back into the swing of things.

I'm doing it because I want to get into computers and apparently Maths is the best way to go when it comes to A level..

Any advice would be most appreciated!
    Get the heinemann books and teach yourself, easiest way, are you doing the full A level or just AS?

ReputationRep: